Symphonie fantastique

Symphonie fantastique: Épisode de la vie d’un artiste … en cinq parties (Fantastical Symphony: An Episode in the Life of an Artist, in Five Parts) Op. 14, is a program symphony written by the French composer Hector Berlioz in 1830. It is an important piece of the early Romanticperiod. The first performance was at the Paris Conservatoire on 5 December 1830. Franz Liszt made a piano transcription of the symphony in 1833 (S. 470).

Leonard Bernstein described the symphony as the first musical expedition into psychedelia because of its hallucinatory and dream-like nature, and because history suggests Berlioz composed at least a portion of it under the influence of opium. According to Bernstein, “Berlioz tells it like it is. You take a trip, you wind up screaming at your own funeral.”

In 1831, Berlioz wrote a lesser-known sequel to the work, Lélio, for actor, orchestra and chorus.

Symphonie fantastique was last modified: October 2nd, 2018 by Jovan Stosic

НОВО УТРО / Настани / Makedonska Filharmonija

27.09.2018 [Четврток] @ 20:00
Редовна програма / Концертна сала
Отворање на концертна сезона
С. Прокофјев: Концерт за пијано и оркестар бр. 2
Х. Берлиоз: Фантастична симфонија, оп. 14

НОВО УТРО / Настани / Makedonska Filharmonija was last modified: October 2nd, 2018 by Jovan Stosic